Review + Giveaway: Knightfall by R. Jackson-Lawrence


https://i0.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1364979546l/17727838.jpg

Lord of the Rings for the Call of Duty generation.

When his world changing experiment is sabotaged, fifteen year old genius Benjamin Knight is cast into another world where an uneasy peace hangs in the balance. Saved from near death by a band of traders, he joins the Road Trains on their journey north as he struggles to understand what’s happened to him.

However, Ben soon realises that everyone has their secrets and that no one is safe, especially when one man has the power to realise his ambitions.

Friends are lost, plots revealed and battles fought as the unlikely companions seek to prevent war.

Will appeal to fans of Anthony Horowitz, Suzanne Collins, Michael Grant, Garth Nix etc

Rating:

https://thatartsygirlsbookblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/72b80-4-out-of-5-stars1.jpg

Review:

I was very skeptical going into this book because I had read a string of really good books and I was sure this book was going to suck because I’m never that lucky.

But turns out Lady Luck was on my side this time because this was a fascinating read. I was hooked into the story right at the beginning when an explosion happens in the lab where Ben works. At first, it seemed like pure sci/fi to me, but as I read more, it sort of evolved into a dystopian/fantasy/sci-fi kind of book. I’ve never read sci/fi before, but I can say this – this book seriously worked. I loved reading about the intense new world the author had created. I felt that it was believable and real. The future (or it might be an alternate universe) that Ben gets transported into is a dangerous world where warfare can happen at the blink of an eye. And I loved reading about the Road Trains and the people on it – they were all likeable characters I could really relate to.

I have very few complaints about the book. One of them is the POVs. At first, it seemed like the story was told from Ben’s POV. It continued to be so for a few dozen pages. Then, it started switching to different people instead of just Ben. I realize when a book is written in third person, the author has the liberty to switch POVs. But it’s just that when I started reading the book, the prose was so well written that I felt like it was written in first person. So, when it switched POVs, it was a bit jarring for me. I don’t know to how many people this makes sense. Maybe it’s just me.

Also, I expected a lot of action from the way the story began, but the action started only about half-way into the book. The non-action parts were not dragging or anything. They were interesting parts – about the people in the Road Trains, about the Regent and more about the dystopian world. But I would have liked the book more if there had been more action.

So, if you like dystopian or sci-fi or fantasy, I would definitely recommend this book to you. A brilliant start to a series. 🙂

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/Knightfall-Chronicle-Benjamin-Knight-ebook/dp/B00C5RWRDE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376427381&sr=8-1&keywords=knightfall+robert

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

When he lost his job in 2012, Robert resurrected a novel he had last touched in the 1990’s and finally brought his vision to reality.  With this new series, he hopes to draw attention away from teen vampires, and bring action and adventure to anyone from ages 9 to 90 in an entirely new setting.

Robert Jackson-Lawrence lives in Lincoln with his two children.  He would really like a dog, but so far his wife won’t let him!

Author links:

Website: http://www.jackson-lawrence.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/R-Jackson-Lawrence/430581967031802

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RJLbooks

**GIVEAWAY**

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/6da88e10/

Advertisements

Book Review: Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi


WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

Rating:

3stars

Review:

I’m usually a very fast reader if the book is good. I finish it by two days tops. I started this book six days ago and I only finished it last night. Yes, I was busy because college started and I had a lot of stuff to do, but if a book is good, nothing can stop me from reading it through to the end. Not college, not lab reports, not exams. What I’m trying to say here is this book didn’t manage to hold my interest at all.

When I was about ten pages into this book, I was so happy. It was such an interesting premise with the Dwellers and the Outsiders and the domes and the Aether storms. But then it turned into another mushy YA love story. I mean, Veronica Rossi did an amazing job with the world building that it’s almost a shame that she limited herself to writing a love story instead of, I don’t know, an adventure/survival maybe. Granted the writing is good, but the question is, is that enough? I like romance, I really do, but when that’s all there is to a story, it kind of becomes boring. Also, nothing much happened in this book. Perry and the girl – who was it? – Aria just went about running from this place to that place, chased by one evil group of people after another. It was EXHAUSTING. It is clear that when Veronica Rossi wrote this book, she had no outline of a plot in her mind. It seems like she kept writing scene after scene with “Perry, Aria and the sexual tension” in the beginning and then, “Perry, Aria and their lovey-dovey-ness” in the latter part of the book. God, I’m so frustrated right now that I can’t even type properly. I’m just a huge mass of disappointment now. Shame. This book had so much potential. And the ending! That is just such an atrocious ending. I expected a cliffhanger because that’s what most YA books with sequels seem to have, but it wasn’t a cliffhanger. It wasn’t even an ending. I felt like a few pages were missing at the end. It was as if the book had ended at a random scene. Sigh. Such potential.

Cons:

  • Lack of sexual tension (Their romance just didn’t do it for me. Somewhere in the middle, I started wishing Perry and Aria would just break up and move on with their lives.)
  • Romance, romance and nothing but romance
  • No plot
  • Flat secondary characters

Pros:

  • Good writing
  • Brilliant world building
  • Good depth in the primary characters (Perry and Aria)

Verdict:

I’m so not picking up the sequel. Unless I hear it has a plot, that is. 🙂

So, what did you guys think of this book? Is it your cup of tea?