Review: 10 Ways To Kill A Cupid by Leigh Parker


https://i0.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1310937666l/12060929.jpg
Three years after becoming a Cupid, the normally cheeky and cheerful Leigh has to question her work ethics when her next assignment happens to be the woman who killed her.

Meet Natalie McIntyre, actually, no, you wouldn’t want to meet Natalie McIntyre, the foul mouthed, anti social Senior Manager at her father’s cardboard box factory who really isn’t in the mood to spend the next 7 days with a weird blonde haired girl who just will not go away.

Over the course of a week Leigh has her work cut out when she learns that not only is Natalie hell bent on being stubborn, cranky and incredibly hard to pair but the appearance of the blue spark puts everything she’s ever learnt as a Cupid in jeopardy.

Rating:

https://i2.wp.com/blakehall.ca/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/3-stars-out-of-5.png

Review:

I read glowing reviews of this book on Goodreads and I was really excited about reading this book. I’ve found that when a book is too hyped up by other readers, then the book will most probably let me down. That is what happened with this book. I tried to like this book. Every time I lost interest in the story, I told myself that it will get better and forced myself to read it. Even though I did get to the end of this book, it was a definite struggle.

The book started out fine. There was a likeable lead heroine who is a Cupid of all things. Unique premise, right? There were a lot of unique things about this book. I could tell that the author had put a lot of thought into each scene, but the problem was it didn’t work out too well. Often, I found myself questioning what kind of person would react that way in a particular situation. The interactions between the characters seemed a bit forced and unrealistic to me.

But that doesn’t mean this book is bad. It really isn’t. There are a lot of funny parts in the book. The growth in the relationship between Natalie and Leigh is oh so adorable. Sure, they cuss like sailors at times, but it only adds to the charm of the story.

Overall, I found the book to be moderately good if not amazing. Worth a read.

Share Your Thoughts!

