Interview + Giveaway: Safe by Dawn Husted


Today, on That Artsy Girl’s Book Blog you get to read my interview with Dawn Husted, author of Safe. Also, she has been generous enough to offer an ecopy of Safe to ONE international winner. So, let’s get to it, shall we?

Q: Hi Dawn! Welcome to That Artsy Girl’s Book Blog. I’m super happy to have you here.

Thank you for allowing me on your blog!

Q: Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Well, I never thought I’d be a writer! It wasn’t until I had kids, that I started writing. In 2008, I began a book intended for my eldest child. A book filled with magic and mystical beings, called Nicova. However, I was new to writing and found out later how horrible the book was! I like to think that I’ve improved considerably since then.

Q: Now, your book SAFE which is releasing on August 1, 2013 is a post-apocalyptic YA book. What was the inspiration for you to write this book?

For years now, I’ve loved almost everything I have watched and read in regard to post-apocalyptic fiction. My notion of wanting to write something, not sure what, within that genre grew. I’m also a huge fan of zombies, but I didn’t want to write about that particular subject (if you read SAFE there is a mention of zombies in a non-science-fiction way). SAFE combined my desire to write science-fiction with a post-apocalyptic twist. It’s a young-adult novel, and I hope readers enjoy it!

Q: Is the main character of SAFE based on a real life character that you know? Yourself, perhaps? No. There may be a few qualities of myself within Penny, but not much.  I wrote the character as someone that thought she knew everything about where she lived, and as she discovers the truth, her world is changed dramatically.  I had to be careful about letting myself decide the way a character would react in situations; letting it be the character speaking, not myself. There were a few times I deleted dialogue, because it just didn’t fit Penny.

Q: What qualities in Penny do you think sets her apart from other YA heroines? Lots of YA heroines are tough, athletic, and physically capable of winning the story. Penny is fully capable, but she lacks the physical strength. She finds herself relying more on her mind than her body to survive, but overall, it takes all three characters working together to stay alive. Those three are: Penny, James and Lucan.

Q: Who is your favorite character in the book apart from the MC, Penny?

I really like Lucan. He’s funny and brings a lot of humor amidst the threat of dying.

Q: Who is your writing muse?

My husband. I’m fortunate to have someone constantly encouraging me to achieve whatever I go after. On the days I’m feeling off my game, simply being around him makes me a better writer.

Q: What and who is your absolutely most favorite book and author in the whole, whole world?

To be honest, I never enjoyed reading when I was younger. Now that I’m older, I like….Patrick Ness, Stephanie Meyer, Suzanne Collins, J.K. Rowling, Nicholas Sparks, and the list goes on. Of these authors, Patrick Ness’s book, The Knife of Never Letting Go, was unexpectedly amazing.  His writing style is unique and different. I really like that. And the story was unlike anything I had read before.

Q: What is your favorite type of music and name a few of your favorite bands or singers.

I enjoy music that’s calming and helps me de-stress, but also fun. Here are a few names:

Flightless Bird, American Mouth – Iron and Wine

Serena Ryder – Stompa

Taylor Swift – I Knew You Were Trouble

The Lumineers – Ho Hey

Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks

Eric Church – Creepin’

Karmin – Brokenhearted

Okay, I have a bunch more, but I’ll stop there.

Q: Favorite movies or TV shows?

The new season of Covert Affairs is about to start, love this show. I’m also sad that Walking Dead is over until October. A few more shows I like are:

Rookie Blue

The Vampire Diaries (can’t wait for this to start up again)

Grimm

Supernatural (I’ve caught every episode)

Rizzoli & Isles

Hart of Dixie

Nikita

I’m sort of addicted to movies, so there’s too many to list.

Q: What is your favorite food that you can never stop eating?

Chocolate and french fries.

Q: Do you have any writing quirks? Like you know, putting on classical music when you write and stuff like that (I’ve been known to do that sometimes).

I have to be in a room where I know I won’t be bothered. So if that means I need to close the door, I do. For some reason, I always feel someone is watching me, standing behind me, and then I can’t focus.

Q: Why do you want to be a writer?

It’s a way to express myself and allows me to write about anything I find interesting. I love that.

Q: Tell us a bit about your childhood. Were you a bookish kid? Did you want to be the President or a rock star? 🙂

HA! I always thought I would grow up and work for the CIA or NSA or anything along those lines. It makes me laugh, because until now, I really didn’t know what I wanted to do. After graduating from college, I had a job or two, then I became a mom. Writing has been an amazing journey and I don’t think I’ll ever stop. However, I don’t know what the future holds. One thing is for sure, no matter what job I have, I will always be a writer.

Q: What book are you reading right now?

I’m in the middle of reading Infraction by Annie Oldham. After that, I’ll be reading Wicked Hunger by DelSheree Gladden and then finally, I’ll be reading War World Z! That movie was great!

Q: Tell us something about you that only your closest friends and family know. (I know, I’m too nosy :D)

When I was 16, I helped build an orphanage in Malawi, Africa. I lived there for almost two months and hope to go back one day, visit the people living there.

Q: If you could change anything in the world, what would it be?

Voicemails that say, “Hey, call me,” would be outlawed. If you are going to leave a message, at least make it detailed. LOL. Of course, my sisters would say, “Then answer your phone.” I’m more of a text messaging kind of gal.

Dawn’s Biography

Dawn Husted resides in Texas with her husband, two toddlers, two dogs and a rescued cat named Kitty. She’s always around nature, including the crazy squirrels stealing food from birds in her backyard. Her passion for reading grew after she graduated college and started writing for fun. Her appetite produced many short-stories and books until finally, SAFE was born. This is her first novel, but not her first time writing science-fiction. Her favorite books to read and write are all young-adult fiction. For more information, please visit http://dawnhusted.weebly.com.

Website: http://dawnhusted.weebly.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheDawnHusted

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DawnHusted

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6434441.Dawn_Husted

What makes this book different?

BOOK: SAFE by Dawn Husted

The basis for how the apocalypse happened is new and refreshing for readers that enjoy these types of books. It’s not a story re-done over and over. And it’s not too terribly long, or short, about 56000 words.

Synopsis:  A science fiction novel in a post-apocalyptic setting; Penny, a teenage girl, has been genetically mutated along with other inhabitants by a vaccine given to their great-grandparents who settled the Land, an island. This particular serum caused everyone to develop vine like marks all over their bodies, along with enhanced abilities passed down through the generations. Penny finds a shift in her reality that causes her to fight for survival as she searches for the truth, even if it puts her at odds with the only person she can trust.

SAFE will be released August 1 on Kindle and Nook. Print copies will be available later.

Now, for the giveaway…

If the widget below doesn’t display “Click here to reveal Rafflecopter” go the following Rafflecopter page directly: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/2749f11/

12 thoughts on “Interview + Giveaway: Safe by Dawn Husted

  1. I dig for genetically mutated-themed stories and the supernatural abilities and etc remind me of Dark Angel, Dollhouse, Beastly all mixed in 1 batch of YAY!

  2. Pingback: 1 ebook copy of Safe by Dawn Husted | Just Sweep

Share Your Thoughts!

