Book Review: That Ghoul Ava and The Queen of Zombies by T. W. Brown


https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1364915311l/17726167.jpg

Ava Birch killed herself and woke up a ghoul with an attitude and a hunger for the dead. With no manual and very little help coming from the supernatural community, Ava offers her services to the regional psychic. Her newest job? Apparently zombies have been spotted in a small town nearby. Ava wades in thinking that this job will be a piece of cake…or at least as tasty. Navigating meddling vampires, bothersome witches, and a peculiar case of memory loss…and now her best friend and human companion has up and walked out. Things go from bad to worse when Ava discovers that there is a force behind these recent zombie sightings that may date back to the time of the Black Plague. Sometimes a ghoul would just rather stay in bed…or at least her sound proof basement where nobody can hear you scream.

Rating:

four-stars(4 stars)

Review:

Now, I’ve never read a ghoul book before. I’ll admit I didn’t even know what a ghoul did (or ate) before this book. So, in many ways, this book was refreshing to read. But that said, it took me some time to get into its whole vibe. There was just something about That Ghoul Ava and the Queen of Zombies that left me wishing that there had been a bit more. Maybe it was the fact that Ava was a bit too smart-alecky for my liking. Don’t get me wrong, I love snarkiness in a girl, but Ava was just… I don’t know, immature maybe? But that doesn’t mean that the book wasn’t enjoyable. I found myself laughing out loud at a lot of parts. The author has a very lively way of writing that grabs your attention instantly. The thing I loved about the book was the description of the creatures, even the way Ava talked about her preferred food. Also, there is a tiny bit of romance in the book, and might I add that it is not the corny type of romance either, so that was good. On the cons side, the characters were a little two-dimensional, but I guess, this is the kind of book where you look for plot rather than characterization. I found the ending to be a bit abrupt, but then again, as Ava would say, not everything has to end in violence, right? All in all, this was a short but enjoyable read, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it is not my type of book. This book didn’t make me want to pick up more books dealing with ghouls. Maybe ghouls and I are just not meant to be. But if you’re into zombies or ghouls, you should definitely give this book a try. It is laugh-out-loud funny without being cheesy.

One thought on “Book Review: That Ghoul Ava and The Queen of Zombies by T. W. Brown

  1. Pingback: 2013 TBR Pile Challenge | That Artsy Girl's Book Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

