Book Review: The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram


The Avery Shaw Experiment

When Avery Shaw’s heart is shattered by her life-long best friend, she chooses to deal with it the only way she knows how—scientifically.

The state science fair is coming up and Avery decides to use her broken heart as the topic of her experiment. She’s going to find the cure. By forcing herself to experience the seven stages of grief through a series of social tests, she believes she will be able to get over Aiden Kennedy and make herself ready to love again. But she can’t do this experiment alone, and her partner (ex partner!) is the one who broke her heart.

Avery finds the solution to her troubles in the form of Aiden’s older brother Grayson. The gorgeous womanizer is about to be kicked off the school basketball team for failing physics. He’s in need of a good tutor and some serious extra credit. But when Avery recruits the lovable Grayson to be her “objective outside observer,” she gets a whole lot more than she bargained for, because Grayson has a theory of his own: Avery doesn’t need to grieve. She needs to live. And if there’s one thing Grayson Kennedy is good at, it’s living life to the fullest.

Rating:

https://thatartsygirlsbookblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/3stars.jpg

Review:

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Have I suddenly got too picky with books? If this was me a couple of years ago, I would have totally loved this book. I mean, it has all the elements I usually like in a book – a superhot guy, an imperfect girl and steamy romance. So, why am I not gung-ho about this book like I want to be?

Okay, I’ll be fair. The premise of this book is refreshing. It’s fun. It is in the format of a series of journal entries written by Avery and Grayson as part of their science project which they are doing for a science fair. It was different and I liked it when I started reading it. But as I went deeper, I didn’t. This is my second Kelly Oram book and I have to say that I liked the other one so much more. I think the problem I had was that the book was predictable. I knew what was going to happen at least twenty pages away. Also, Oram’s characters seem to be a bit obsessed with looks and popularity. I mean, they are important too, but I didn’t like that Oram made it seem like the answer to all high school problems is popularity. I had the same problem with the other Oram book that I read too, V Is For Virgin. And then, there is Avery. I know she has social anxiety and all that (oops, is that a spoiler), but still, all her blushing and hiding behind her hands got to be a bit too much for me. What wouldn’t I give to read a book with a strong female lead, who doesn’t turn into mush the minute a gorgeous guy looks her in the eye? And, Grayson. Um… Grayson was hot. Yes, definitely. But he was a little too cocky and sure of himself. He is just so sure that Avery will fall for him like he did for her. In the end, he does get a little insecure about their relationship, but it seemed as if his insecurity was added as a last minute thought to make it look like Grayson was not perfect after all. I just would have liked to see him grow as a character. Like how Mr. Darcy does in the end of Pride and Prejudice (Sorry, I just had to put it in there. I am a complete P&P junkie. J)

That said, there were some enjoyable moments in this book too. The shower scene was touching and sexy at the same time (strange combo, I know). I liked Aiden’s character and Owen’s too. Avery and Grayson’s family were great. The book was just the right amount of sappy. Avery and Grayson had chemistry so hot that it literally smoked the pages. The execution of the whole story was smooth and without a hitch, but like I said, predictable. Maybe my brain has been so oversaturated with YA books that I can’t like a book now unless it is really, really original. Is that such a huge thing to ask?

(I’ve changed my review format, in case you noticed. My busy college schedule hardly gives me time to write reviews, so I’ve cut down on the pros and cons. 🙂 )

Share Your Thoughts!

