Book Review: V Is For Virgin by Kelly Oram


First of all, I want to let everyone know about the awesome “150+ Book Giveaway”. There are lots of amazing books up for grabs, plus there are author sponsored giveaways for June and July too. Just click the link below to visit the page. 🙂

http://livetoread-krystal.blogspot.in/2013/06/150-book-summer-giveaway-introduction.html

Now, on to the review. =)

When Val Jensen gets dumped for her decision to stay a virgin until marriage, the nasty breakup goes viral on YouTube, making her the latest internet sensation.

After days of ridicule from her peers, Val starts a school-wide campaign to rally support for her cause. She meant to make a statement, but she never dreamed the entire nation would get caught up in the controversy.

As if becoming nationally recognized as “Virgin Val” isn’t enough, Val’s already hectic life starts to spin wildly out of control when bad boy Kyle Hamilton, lead singer for the hit rock band Tralse, decides to take her abstinence as a personal challenge.

How can a girl stay true to herself when this year’s Sexiest Man Alive is doing everything in his power to win her over?

Rating:

4stars

Review:

I was originally reading Have No Shame by Melissa Foster, but I was out of town for a couple of days and I forgot to bring my e-reader with me. Stupid of me, huh? But I had this one in my bag, so I started reading it, thinking it would be a light and fun read. And it didn’t let me down. Mostly. I liked how the story started with Valerie’s boyfriend Zach’s “special” plans and all. The pacing was good, the characters likeable, but there was this tiny (very, very tiny, really) part of that didn’t like Valerie’s obsession with popularity. And the only reason Val likes Isaac seems to be because he is much more popular than her. Apart from that tiny thing, I quite enjoyed the book. It is not a very profound or serious read (as can be expected), but it is fun and I was able to pass my time when I wasn’t able to get my hands on my intended read. I liked the character of Kyle. I hate it when books show bad boy types as someone who’s actually good at heart. Kyle here is a bad boy through and through and I liked him in spite of that. I think Val’s reason for wanting to remain a virgin until marriage sounded a little stupid, but the fact that she didn’t give in to pressure both from Kyle and from the students in her school is admirable. I also liked that Kyle seems to mature in the end.

Cons:

  • Val’s popularity obsession
  • Val’s V reason is stupid

Pros:

  • Light and fast read
  • Likeable characters
  • Kyle and Val’s chemistry is off the charts

Verdict:

It was thoroughly entertaining, if a bit shallow.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: V Is For Virgin by Kelly Oram

        • Well, Val’s mum gave birth to her at fifteen and she didn’t know who the father was. That is why the reader thinks Val wants to stay a virgin. Then, she goes on and says that she wants to stay a virgin because it will be that much more special to the person she shares her virginity with. Does that mean she wants whoever it is she “shares” her virginity with to be a virgin too so it would seem special to her? It just seemed to me that Val wasn’t sure herself. That’s why I called it stupid.

          Sorry for the mini rant btw. 😀

  1. Pingback: 2013 TBR Pile Challenge | That Artsy Girl's Book Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

