My Classics TBR


I’m not much of a classics girl. I have read a few classics that I liked like Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre etc. but I ended up disliking a lot of them too. I couldn’t stomach Adam Bede at all because of the weird way of writing the accents and also, I found it a little on the preachy side. But then, I came to know what the story is about, so now I know it’s not so bad. But still, I didn’t have the patience to finish it. Another classic I didn’t like was Frankenstein. I know there will probably be a lot of gasps at this, but again, I thought it was very yawn inducing. Maybe I expected it to be a bit more gory or something, but I suppose it must have been pretty gory when it was first published. Another shocker is the fact that I didn’t like Little Women either. For a while I had given up on classics altogether. But I’m trying to broaden my reading horizon, so I’ve decided to give these old tomes another whirl. So, what I’ve done is I’ve compiled a small list of classics that I believe are to my taste. And let me describe what ‘my taste’ comprises of.

  • I don’t like books that go on and on about the sun filtering through the leaves and falling on the lake and bursting into a million rays and… Well, you get my drift.
  • I detest preachy books. Completely. Absolutely.
  • I like books that are passionate and awe inducing.
  • I like complex characters who are neither completely good nor completely bad.
  • I do like happy endings, but I don’t mind not having one either.
  • I like intense and gripping plots that bring out the best and the worst in the characters of the book.
  • I love reading about strong female characters who are not afraid to make their opinions known and who refuse to take any kind of shit from sexist males.

Based on the above criteria, I’ve made the following list.

  1. Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
  2. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf
  3. Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  4. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  5. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  6. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  7. Persuasion by Jane Austen
  8. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  9. A Room With A View by E.M. Forster
  10. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  11. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  12. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  13. The Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger
  14. I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith
  15. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  16. Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  17. 1984 by George Orwell
  18. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
  19. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
  20. Villette by Charlotte Bronte

So, these are the books I’ve managed to find so far that fit my taste. Can you think of any other books I can add to this list? I would really appreciate the help! :D

 

10 thoughts on “My Classics TBR

  1. Of the books you listed I loved Rebecca, Gone with the Wind and Wuthering Heights. I think you will too. Add East of Eden by John Steinbeck, based on your criteria I think you may enjoy it! Happy reading!

  2. Nice post btw…even i’m not fond of classics myself..From the above mentioned list , i have read no.5,11,13,17,19…. you should definitely give ‘ em a try….would like to add a few books as well as per ur taste dat u ‘ve mentioned… Try adding these to the above list :
    Dracula – Bram Stoker
    Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
    The Stranger – Albert Camus
    The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
    Sherlock Holmes- Arthur Canan Doyle

    P.S. – They do are classics but I am not cent% sure they fit into the genre completely as such but they are worth a try. :)

  3. I am glad when anyone decides to give the classics a try. At the risk of sounding like an antiquated grandmother, I think if a work stands the test of time, it’s important to ask why. Two books that would make a good addition to your list are Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina. The first because it’s one of the best works of the Modernist era and it’s a beautiful glimpse into the bygone reality of imperialism, a reality that shaped the world we live in today. (I feel this all the more strongly for having been born in one of the erstwhile colonies). The best quality of the narrative is it’s almost palpable struggle to find words for experiences that don’t have a vocabulary just yet. And Anna Karenina because not only is it an expansive look at the complex politics of 19th century Russia but one of the most sympathetic and insightful portrayals of a woman’s psyche from a masculine pen.

  4. “I love reading about strong female characters who are not afraid to make their opinions known and who refuse to take any kind of shit from sexist males.”

    Stieg Larsson is your guy. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, part of the Millenium Trilogy.

Share Your Thoughts!

