Book Review: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison


http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1347701757l/563712.jpg

There are six things very wrong with my life:

1. I have one of those under-the-skin spots that will never come to a head but lurk in a red way for the next two years.

2. It is on my nose

3. I have a three-year-old sister who may have peed somewhere in my room.

4. In fourteen days the summer hols will be over and then it will be back to Stalag 14 and Oberfuhrer Frau Simpson and her bunch of sadistic teachers.

5. I am very ugly and need to go into an ugly home.

6. I went to a party dressed as a stuffed olive.

In this wildly funny journal of a year in the life of Georgia Nicolson, British author Louise Rennison has perfectly captured the soaring joys and bottomless angst of being a teenager. In the spirit of Bridget Jones’s Diary, this fresh, irreverent, and simply hilarious book will leave you laughing out loud. As Georgia would say, it’s “Fabbity fab fab!”

Rating:

four-stars

Review:

I have been having a book slump lately. I just haven’t been able to find a book that interests me nowadays. I could blame my busy (but boring) college schedule for that, but honestly, I think it’s the books’ fault. All the books I’ve read in the past two weeks were HUGE bombers. They were such huge bombers that almost every one of them ended up on my DNF list. Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging is one of the two that didn’t.

This book is one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. Every single time I picked up this book – and I repeat, EVERY single time – I either laughed out loud like a maniac or tried unsuccessfully to muffle my laughter by biting into my pillow because my roommate was fast asleep a few feet away from me. I would recommend this book to every MG reader out there. Georgia Nicolson’s voice in this book was so freaking hilarious and the situations she gets herself into reminded me of when I was in school with my little group of friends. And I loved Angus, Libby and Georgia’s Mati and Vati. Honestly, Georgia reminded me of a younger version of Becky Bloomwood. Her thoughts are so juvenile (which is to be expected from a fourteen year old girl) but they were really enjoyable to read because you know you have had the same kind of thoughts when you were fourteen too.

One thing I didn’t like about Georgia was that she was kind of shallow and boy crazy. She is insecure about her looks (especially her nose LOL), but I felt like the only reason she liked Robbie was because he was, in Georgia’s words, a sex god. There are only about three or four scenes where Robbie and Georgia even remotely interact with each other. The rest are spent with Georgia obsessing over whether Robbie and whatsername are engaged. But then again, like I said, Georgia is only fourteen and we all were kind of shallow when we were fourteen, right? But I feel that when younger kids read this book, they will think it’s okay to want someone to be your boyfriend just because he looks like a “sex god”. I would have liked to see some growth in Georgia’s maturity level by the end of the book at least. Hopefully, the next book gives me what I’m looking for. Because I will DEFINITELY read the next book. :) :D

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

  1. I loved this book in high school! Georgia totally is a younger version of Becky…I love the Shopaholic books too. I do agree that she can be pretty shallow, but i found that to be part of her charm. I hope you enjoy the rest of the series…its one of my favorites! Great review!

  2. Pingback: 2013 TBR Pile Challenge | That Artsy Girl's Book Blog

Share Your Thoughts!

